Board Members

Who will decide my appeal and what are their qualifications

All Board members are appointed by the Cabinet of the Provincial government.

The Board is lead by the Chair – who reports to the Minister of Attorney General. The Chair, two Vice-Chairs and Registrar manage the appeals, working with the parties to seek resolution through mutual agreement. If the appeal is not settled, it will be decided by one or more Board members who may be the Chair, Vice-Chair or a part-time member.

Board member backgrounds:

See the links below for a summary of the current Board members’ backgrounds:

Maureen Baird Howard Kushner
Allan Beatty David Lee
John Bridal Michael Litchfield
Winton Derby Bruce Maitland
Larry Dybvig Robert Metcalf 
Dianne Flood Edwina Nearhood
Robert Fraser Dale Pope
Erin Frew (Vice Chair) Simmi Sandhu (Chair)
Steven Guthrie Audrey Suttorp
Mandy Hansen Kenneth Thornicroft
Chris Hope Bruce Turner
James Howell (Vice Chair) Candace Watson
David Jang  

Board member remuneration:

Board members are remunerated in accordance with the Treasury Board Directive 1/17 which covers Administrative Tribunals in British Columbia. All Board members are classified under the Group 1 rates under this Directive.

Details on 2018 for Board members: remuneration.